Log in 

Porifera distribution - Placedetails

Status Alternative classification Alternative classification, try to use a different MRGID
Language Name Name source
EnglishAzores Canaries MadeiraSpalding, M. D. Fox, H. E. Allen, G. R. Davidson, N. Ferdana, Z. A. Finlayson, M. Halpern, B. S. Jorge, M. A. Lombana, A. Lourie, S. A., (2007). Marine Ecoregions of the World: A Bioregionalization of Coastal and Shelf Areas. Bioscience 2007, VOL 57; numb 7, pages 573-584. doi: 10.1641/B570707   
PlaceType Marine Ecoregion of the World (MEOW) 
Latitude 34° 46' 46.9" N (34.7797°)  
Longitude 22° 48' 23.4" W (-22.8065°)  
Source Spalding, M. D. Fox, H. E. Allen, G. R. Davidson, N. Ferdana, Z. A. Finlayson, M. Halpern, B. S. Jorge, M. A. Lombana, A. Lourie, S. A., (2007). Marine Ecoregions of the World: A Bioregionalization of Coastal and Shelf Areas. Bioscience 2007, VOL 57; numb 7, pages 573-584. doi: 10.1641/B570707, available online at
Part of  Lusitanian (Marine Province) 
Shapefile [download] or view the complete Marine Ecoregions of the World (MEOW) shapefile
in this area (100)
Aaptos aaptos (Schmidt, 1864)
Acanthancora clavatancora Topsent, 1927 accepted as Pseudohalichondria clavatancora (Topsent, 1927)
Acanthella acuta Schmidt, 1862
Acantheurypon hispidulum (Topsent, 1904) accepted as Eurypon hispidulum (Topsent, 1904)
Acantheurypon incipiens Topsent, 1928 accepted as Acantheurypon spinispinosum (Topsent, 1904)
Acantheurypon mixtum Topsent, 1928 accepted as Eurypon mixtum (Topsent, 1928)
Acantheurypon pilosella (Topsent, 1904)
Acantheurypon scabiosum Topsent, 1927 accepted as Eurypon scabiosum (Topsent, 1927)
Acarnus (Acanthacarnus) souriei Lévi, 1952 accepted as Acarnus souriei (Lévi, 1952)
Acarnus tortilis Topsent, 1892
Acca infesta Johnson, 1899 accepted as Siphonodictyon infestum (Johnson, 1899)
Acca insidiosa Johnson, 1899 accepted as Siphonodictyon insidiosum (Johnson, 1899)
Acca rodens Johnson, 1899 accepted as Siphonodictyon insidiosum (Johnson, 1899)
Acervochalina fertilis (Keller, 1880) accepted as Chalinula renieroides Schmidt, 1868
Acervochalina limbata (Montagu, 1814) accepted as Chalinula limbata (Montagu, 1814)
Acervochalina parasimulans (Lévi, 1959) accepted as Chalinula parasimulans (Lévi, 1959)
Adocia laevis Griessinger, 1971 accepted as Haliclona (Haliclona) jeanmicheli Van Soest & Hooper, 2020
Adocia simulans (Johnston, 1842) accepted as Haliclona (Haliclona) simulans (Johnston, 1842)
Alectona millari Carter, 1879
Alloscleria tenuispinosa Topsent, 1927
Amphoriscus flamma Poléjaeff, 1883 accepted as Sycettusa flamma (Poléjaeff, 1883)
Anchinoe coriaceus (Fristedt, 1885) accepted as Hymedesmia (Stylopus) coriacea (Fristedt, 1885)
Anchinoe fictitius (Bowerbank, 1866) accepted as Phorbas fictitius (Bowerbank, 1866)
Anchinoe tenacior Topsent, 1925 accepted as Phorbas tenacior (Topsent, 1925)
Anisocrella hymedesmina Topsent, 1927
Anisoxya glabra Topsent, 1898 accepted as Topsentia glabra (Topsent, 1898)
Anomomycale titubans (Schmidt, 1870) accepted as Mycale (Anomomycale) titubans (Schmidt, 1870)
Antho (Antho) mediterranea (Babiç, 1922)
Antho (Antho) paradoxa (Babiç, 1922)
Antho involvens (Schmidt, 1864) accepted as Antho (Antho) involvens (Schmidt, 1864)
Aphrocallistes azoricus Topsent, 1901 accepted as Pityrete azoricum (Topsent, 1901)
Aphrocallistes beatrix Gray, 1858
Aphrocallistes bocagei Wright, 1870 accepted as Aphrocallistes beatrix Gray, 1858
Aphrocallistes ramosus Schulze, 1886 accepted as Aphrocallistes beatrix Gray, 1858
Aplysilla sulfurea Schulze, 1878
Aplysina aerophoba (Nardo, 1833)
Artemisina erecta Topsent, 1904
Asbestopluma quadriserialis Tendal, 1973 accepted as Asbestopluma (Asbestopluma) quadriserialis Tendal, 1973
Ascetta blanca (Miklucho-Maclay, 1868) accepted as Clathrina blanca (Miklucho-Maclay, 1868)
Asconema fristedti Tabachnick & Menshenina, 2007
Asconema fristedti fristedti Tabachnick & Menshenina, 2007
Asconema megaatrialia biacorica Tabachnick & Menshenina, 2007
Asconema setubalense Kent, 1870
Asconema topsenti Tabachnick & Menshenina, 2007
Astrella tuberosa Topsent, 1892 accepted as Stelletta tuberosa (Topsent, 1892)
Astylinifer planus Topsent, 1927 accepted as Acheliderma planum (Topsent, 1927)
Auletta sessilis Topsent, 1904
Auletta sycinularia Schmidt, 1870
Axinella damicornis (Esper, 1794)
Axinella erecta (Carter, 1876) accepted as Acanthella erecta (Carter, 1876)
Axinella flustra Topsent, 1892
Axinella guiteli Topsent, 1896
Axinella polypoides Schmidt, 1862
Axinella pumila Babiç, 1922 accepted as Axinella minuta Lévi, 1957
Axinella pyramidata Stephens, 1916
Axinella vasonuda Topsent, 1904
Axinella vellerea Topsent, 1904
Axinella verrucosa (Esper, 1794)
Azorica pfeifferae Carter, 1873 accepted as Leiodermatium pfeifferae (Carter, 1873)
Bathydorus servatus Topsent, 1927
Batzella inops (Topsent, 1891)
Biemma corrugata sensu Topsent, 1890 accepted as Desmacella topsenti (Burton, 1930)
Biemma corrugata (Bowerbank, 1866) accepted as Mycale (Aegogropila) corrugata (Bowerbank, 1866)
Biemma dautzenbergi Topsent, 1890 accepted as Biemna dautzenbergi Topsent, 1890
Biemma grimaldii Topsent, 1890 accepted as Desmacella grimaldii (Topsent, 1890)
Biemna inornata (Bowerbank, 1866) accepted as Desmacella inornata (Bowerbank, 1866)
Biemna peachii (Bowerbank, 1866) accepted as Biemna variantia (Bowerbank, 1858)
Biemna peachii var. peracuta Topsent, 1927 accepted as Biemna peracuta Topsent, 1927
Biemna rosea (Fristedt, 1887) accepted as Desmacella infundibuliformis (Vosmaer, 1885)
Bubaris mastophora (Schmidt, 1870) accepted as Acanthella mastophora (Schmidt, 1870)
Bubaris sosia Topsent, 1904
Bubaris vermiculata (Bowerbank, 1866)
Bubaropsis curvisclera Lévi & Vacelet, 1958 accepted as Cerbaris curvisclera (Lévi & Vacelet, 1958)
Cacospongia mollior Schmidt, 1862
Cacospongia scalaris Schmidt, 1862 accepted as Scalarispongia scalaris (Schmidt, 1862)
Callyspongia simplex Burton, 1956 accepted as Callyspongia (Callyspongia) burtoni Van Soest & Hooper, 2020
Calthropella (Calthropella) geodioides (Carter, 1876)
Calthropella geodioides (Carter, 1876) accepted as Calthropella (Calthropella) geodioides (Carter, 1876)
Calthropella simplex Sollas, 1888 accepted as Calthropella (Calthropella) simplex Sollas, 1888
Calthropella simplex var. durissima Topsent, 1892 accepted as Calthropella (Calthropella) durissima Topsent, 1892
Calthropella stelligera (Schmidt, 1868) accepted as Calthropella (Corticellopsis) stelligera (Schmidt, 1868)
Caminus vulcani Schmidt, 1862
Caminus xavierae Díaz & Cárdenas, 2024
Cerbaris torquatus Topsent, 1898
Chalinula montagui (Fleming, 1828) accepted as Haliclona (Reniera) cinerea (Grant, 1826)
Chalinula nigra Boury-Esnault & Lopes, 1985
Characella pachastrelloides (Carter, 1876)
Characella sollasi Topsent, 1890 accepted as Characella pachastrelloides (Carter, 1876)
Chelonaplysilla noevus (Carter, 1876)
Chelonaplysilla psammophila (Topsent, 1928)
Chiastosia pecqueryi (Topsent, 1890) accepted as Hymenancora pecqueryi (Topsent, 1890)
Chondrilla nucula Schmidt, 1862
Chondrosia plebeja Schmidt, 1868
Chondrosia reniformis Nardo, 1847
Chonelasma ijimai Topsent, 1901
Chonelasma schultzei Topsent, 1890 accepted as Periphragella lusitanica Topsent, 1890
Chonelasma schulzei Topsent, 1892 accepted as Periphragella lusitanica Topsent, 1890
Chrotella amphiacantha Topsent, 1904 accepted as Tetilla amphiacantha (Topsent, 1904)
Ciocalypta penicillus Bowerbank, 1862
Cladocroce fibrosa (Topsent, 1890)
Edit history Last edited on 2009-05-20 15:39:48 by De Hauwere Nathalie
[Google] [Google scholar] [Google images]

Website and databases developed and hosted by VLIZ · Page generated 2024-07-18 · contact: Nicole de Voogd