Intro | About | Wiki | Search traits | Literature | Definitions | Sources | Webservices | Statistics | Feedback | Editors | Log in

Traits source details

Norman M.D. & Hochberg F.G. (2005) The current state of Octopus taxonomy. Phuket Marine Biological Center Research Bulletin 66:127–154.
Norman, M. D.; Hochberg, F. G.
The current state of Octopus taxonomy
i>Phuket Marine Biological Center Research Bulletin</i
66: 127-154
RIS (EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite, RefWorks)
BibTex (BibDesk, LaTeX)
2013-01-12 18:30:12Z
2014-02-24 08:58:04Z

Abdopus Norman & Finn, 2001 (status source)
Abdopus abaculus (Norman & Sweeney, 1997) (basis of record)
Abdopus aculeatus (d'Orbigny [in Férussac & d'Orbigny], 1834) (basis of record)
Abdopus capricornicus (Norman & Finn, 2001) (status source)
Abdopus horridus (d'Orbigny, 1826) (basis of record)
Abdopus tonganus (Hoyle, 1885) (basis of record)
Adelieledone piatkowski Allcock, Hochberg, Rodhouse & Thorpe, 2003 (basis of record)
Adelieledone polymorpha (Robson, 1930) (basis of record)
Ameloctopus litoralis Norman, 1992 (additional source)
Amphioctopus P. Fischer, 1882 (additional source)
Amphioctopus aegina (Gray, 1849) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus burryi (Voss, 1950) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus exannulatus (Norman, 1993) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus fangsiao (d'Orbigny [in Férussac & d'Orbigny], 1839-1841) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus kagoshimensis (Ortmann, 1888) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus marginatus (Taki, 1964) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus membranaceus (Quoy & Gaimard, 1832) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus mototi (Norman, 1993) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus neglectus (Nateewathana & Norman, 1999) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus ovulum (Sasaki, 1917) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus polyzenia (Gray, 1849) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus rex (Nateewathana & Norman, 1999) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus robsoni (Adam, 1941) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus siamensis (Nateewathana & Norman, 1999) (basis of record)
Amphioctopus varunae (Oommen, 1971) (basis of record)
Bathypolypus arcticus (Prosch, 1849) (basis of record)
Bathypolypus bairdii (Verrill, 1873) (basis of record)
Bathypolypus pugniger Muus, 2002 (additional source)
Bathypolypus sponsalis (P. Fischer & H. Fischer, 1892) (additional source)
Bathypolypus valdiviae (Thiele in Chun, 1915) (basis of record)
Bentheledone albida (Berry, 1917) (basis of record)
Callistoctopus alpheus (Norman, 1993) (basis of record)
Callistoctopus aspilosomatis (Norman, 1993) (basis of record)
Callistoctopus bunurong (Stranks, 1990) (basis of record)
Callistoctopus dierythraeus (Norman, 1993) (basis of record)
Callistoctopus graptus (Norman, 1993) (basis of record)
Callistoctopus kermadecensis (Berry, 1914) accepted as Pinnoctopus kermadecensis (Berry, 1914) (basis of record)
Callistoctopus lechenaultii (d'Orbigny [in Férussac & d'Orbigny], 1826) (basis of record)
Callistoctopus luteus (Sasaki, 1929) (basis of record)
Callistoctopus macropus (Risso, 1826) (basis of record)
Callistoctopus nocturnus (Norman & Sweeney, 1997) (basis of record)
Callistoctopus ornatus (Gould, 1852) (basis of record)
Callistoctopus rapanui (Voss, 1979) (basis of record)
Cistopus indicus (Rapp [in Férussac & d'Orbigny], 1835) (source of synonymy)
Eledone caparti Adam, 1950 (status source)
Eledone gaucha Haimovici, 1988 (additional source)
Eledone massyae Voss, 1964 (additional source)
Eledone palari Lu & Stranks, 1992 (additional source)
Eledone schultzei (Hoyle, 1910) (basis of record)
Enteroctopus magnificus (Villanueva, Sánchez & Compagno Roeleveld, 1992) (basis of record)
Enteroctopus megalocyathus (Gould, 1852) (additional source)
Enteroctopus zealandicus (Benham, 1944) (basis of record)
Euaxoctopus panamensis Voss, 1971 (status source)
Euaxoctopus pillsburyae Voss, 1975 (status source)
Euaxoctopus scalenus (Hoyle, 1904) (status source)
Galeoctopus lateralis Norman, Boucher & Hochberg, 2004 (additional source)
Graneledone antarctica Voss, 1976 (basis of record)
Graneledone challengeri (Berry, 1916) (additional source)
Graneledone gonzalezi Guerra, González & Cherel, 2000 (additional source)
Graneledone macrotyla Voss, 1976 (additional source)
Graneledone taniwha O'Shea, 1999 (additional source)
Graneledone verrucosa (A. E. Verrill, 1881) (additional source)
Graneledone yamana Guerrero-Kommritz, 2000 (additional source)
Grimpella thaumastocheir Robson, 1928 (additional source)
Hapalochlaena fasciata (Hoyle, 1886) (additional source)
Hapalochlaena lunulata (Quoy & Gaimard, 1832) (additional source)
Hapalochlaena maculosa (Hoyle, 1883) (additional source)
Hapalochlaena nierstraszi (Adam, 1938) (additional source)
Macrochlaena winckworthi (Robson, 1926) (status source)
Macroctopus maorum (Hutton, 1880) (basis of record)
Macrotritopus defilippi (Vérany, 1851) (basis of record)
Macrotritopus scorpio (Berry, 1920) (status source)
Megaleledone setebos (Robson, 1932) (additional source)
Octopus alecto Berry, 1953 (status source)
Octopus argus F. Krauss, 1848 (status source)
Octopus australis Hoyle, 1885 (status source)
Octopus balboai Voss, 1971 (status source)
Octopus berenice Gray, 1849 (status source)
Octopus berrima Stranks & Norman, 1992 (status source)
Octopus bimaculatus Verrill, 1883 (status source)
Octopus bimaculoides Pickford & McConnaughey, 1949 (status source)
Octopus bocki Adam, 1941 (status source)
Octopus briareus Robson, 1929 (status source)
Octopus bulbus Norman, 2001 (status source)
Octopus campbelli (E. A. Smith, 1902) accepted as Robsonella campbelli (E. A. Smith, 1902) (status source)
Octopus chierchiae Jatta, 1889 (status source)
Octopus cyanea Gray, 1849 (status source)
Octopus favonius Gray, 1849 (additional source)
Octopus filosus Howell, 1868 accepted as Octopus hummelincki Adam, 1936 (additional source)
Octopus fitchi Berry, 1953 (additional source)
Octopus gardineri (Hoyle, 1905) (additional source)
Octopus harpedon Norman, 2001 (additional source)
Octopus hattai (Sasaki, 1929) (additional source)
Octopus hubbsorum Berry, 1953 (additional source)
Octopus huttoni (Benham, 1943) accepted as Robsonella huttoni Benham, 1943 (status source)
Octopus joubini Robson, 1929 (additional source)
Octopus kaharoa O'Shea, 1999 (additional source)
Octopus kaurna Stranks, 1990 (additional source)
Octopus maya Voss & Solís, 1966 (additional source)
Octopus mercatoris Adam, 1937 accepted as Paroctopus mercatoris (Adam, 1937) (additional source)