Log in 

Porifera distribution - Placedetails

Status Alternative classification Alternative classification, try to use a different MRGID
Language Name Name source
EnglishSouth India and Sri LankaSpalding, M. D. Fox, H. E. Allen, G. R. Davidson, N. Ferdana, Z. A. Finlayson, M. Halpern, B. S. Jorge, M. A. Lombana, A. Lourie, S. A., (2007). Marine Ecoregions of the World: A Bioregionalization of Coastal and Shelf Areas. Bioscience 2007, VOL 57; numb 7, pages 573-584. doi: 10.1641/B570707   
PlaceType Marine Ecoregion of the World (MEOW) 
Latitude 7° 1' 38.5" N (7.02735°)  
Longitude 80° 24' 46.4" E (80.4129°)  
Source Spalding, M. D. Fox, H. E. Allen, G. R. Davidson, N. Ferdana, Z. A. Finlayson, M. Halpern, B. S. Jorge, M. A. Lombana, A. Lourie, S. A., (2007). Marine Ecoregions of the World: A Bioregionalization of Coastal and Shelf Areas. Bioscience 2007, VOL 57; numb 7, pages 573-584. doi: 10.1641/B570707, available online at

Part of  West and South Indian Shelf (Marine Province) 
Shapefile [download] or view the complete Marine Ecoregions of the World (MEOW) shapefile
in this area (100)
Aaptos aaptos (Schmidt, 1864)
Aaptos unispiculus (Carter, 1880) accepted as Eurypon unispiculum (Carter, 1880)
Acanthacarnus souriei Lévi, 1952 accepted as Acarnus souriei (Lévi, 1952)
Acanthella carteri Dendy, 1889 accepted as Stylissa carteri (Dendy, 1889)
Acanthella cavernosa Dendy, 1922
Acanthella elongata (Dendy, 1905) accepted as Auletta elongata Dendy, 1905
Acanthella flabelliformis Keller, 1889 accepted as Echinodictyum flabelliforme (Keller, 1889)
Acanthella lyrata (Esper, 1794) accepted as Auletta lyrata (Esper, 1794)
Acanthostylotella cornuta (Topsent, 1897)
Acanthoxifer ceylonensis Dendy, 1905 accepted as Myrmekioderma granulatum (Esper, 1829)
Acarnus ternatus Ridley, 1884
Acarnus thielei Lévi, 1958
Aciculites orientalis Dendy, 1905
Agelas ceylonica Dendy, 1905
Agelas mauritiana (Carter, 1883)
Aka diagonoxea Thomas, 1968 accepted as Siphonodictyon diagonoxeum (Thomas, 1968)
Aka minuta Thomas, 1972 accepted as Siphonodictyon minutum (Thomas, 1972)
Alectona higgini Carter, 1880 accepted as Delectona higgini (Carter, 1880)
Amorphinopsis excavans Carter, 1887
Amorphinopsis foetida (Dendy, 1889)
Anchinoe dubia Burton, 1928 accepted as Stelodoryx dubia (Burton, 1928)
Ancorina simplex Lendenfeld, 1897 accepted as Ecionemia acervus Bowerbank, 1862
Antho (Plocamia) manaarensis (Carter, 1880)
Aphrocallistes bocagei Wright, 1870 accepted as Aphrocallistes beatrix Gray, 1858
Aplysina fusca Carter, 1880 accepted as Suberea fusca (Carter, 1880)
Aplysina herdmani Dendy, 1905 accepted as Luffariella herdmani (Dendy, 1905)
Aplysina purpurea Carter, 1880 accepted as Pseudoceratina purpurea (Carter, 1880)
Asteropus haeckeli Dendy, 1905
Asteropus simplex (Carter, 1879)
Auletta aurantiaca Dendy, 1889
Auletta elongata Dendy, 1905
Auletta lyrata (Esper, 1794)
Auletta lyrata var. brevispiculata Dendy, 1905
Auletta lyrata var. crassispiculata Dendy, 1905
Auletta lyrata var. glomerata Dendy, 1905 accepted as Auletta aurantiaca Dendy, 1889
Aulospongus sessilis (Carter, 1880) accepted as Eurypon sessile (Carter, 1880)
Aulospongus tubulatus (Bowerbank, 1873)
Aurora globostellata (Carter, 1883) accepted as Rhabdastrella globostellata (Carter, 1883)
Aurora providentiae Dendy, 1916 accepted as Rhabdastrella providentiae (Dendy, 1916)
Axinella agariciformis (Dendy, 1905) accepted as Dragmacidon agariciforme (Dendy, 1905)
Axinella bubarinoides Dendy, 1922
Axinella carteri (Dendy, 1889) accepted as Stylissa carteri (Dendy, 1889)
Axinella ceylonensis (Dendy, 1905)
Axinella crassistylifera (Dendy, 1905) accepted as Phakellia crassistylifera Dendy, 1905
Axinella donnani (Bowerbank, 1873)
Axinella durissima (Dendy, 1905) accepted as Dragmacidon durissimum (Dendy, 1905)
Axinella halichondrioides Dendy, 1905
Axinella labyrinthica Dendy, 1889
Axinella lamellata (Dendy, 1905)
Axinella manus Dendy, 1905
Axinella symmetrica (Dendy, 1905) accepted as Phakellia symmetrica Dendy, 1905
Axinella tenuidigitata Dendy, 1905
Axinella tubulata (Bowerbank, 1873) accepted as Aulospongus tubulatus (Bowerbank, 1873)
Axinyssa flabelliformis (Keller, 1889) accepted as Echinodictyum flabelliforme (Keller, 1889)
Biemna fistulosa (Topsent, 1897)
Biemna fortis (Topsent, 1897)
Bubaris eruca (Carter, 1880) accepted as Monocrepidium eruca (Carter, 1880)
Bubaris vermiculata (Bowerbank, 1866)
Cacospongia mollior Schmidt, 1862
Cacospongia scalaris Schmidt, 1862 accepted as Scalarispongia scalaris (Schmidt, 1862)
Callyspongia (Callyspongia) bullata (Lamarck, 1814)
Callyspongia (Cladochalina) diffusa (Ridley, 1884)
Callyspongia (Cladochalina) subarmigera (Ridley, 1884)
Callyspongia (Toxochalina) folioides (Bowerbank, 1875)
Callyspongia barodensis Burton, 1959 accepted as Callyspongia (Callyspongia) barodensis Burton, 1959
Callyspongia cellaria Rao, 1941 accepted as Haliclona (Gellius) cellaria (Rao, 1941)
Callyspongia cellaria var. fusca Rao, 1941 accepted as Haliclona (Gellius) cellaria (Rao, 1941)
Callyspongia ceylonica (Dendy, 1905) accepted as Callyspongia (Cladochalina) diffusa (Ridley, 1884)
Callyspongia clathrata (Dendy, 1905)
Callyspongia diffusa (Ridley, 1884) accepted as Callyspongia (Cladochalina) diffusa (Ridley, 1884)
Callyspongia fibrosa (Ridley & Dendy, 1886) accepted as Callyspongia (Cladochalina) fibrosa (Ridley & Dendy, 1886)
Callyspongia fistularis (Topsent, 1892)
Callyspongia pambanensis Rao, 1941
Callyspongia spinosissima (Dendy, 1887) accepted as Callyspongia (Cladochalina) spinosissima (Dendy, 1887)
Carmia madraspatana (Annandale, 1914) accepted as Mycale (Carmia) madraspatana Annandale, 1914
Carmia sulevoidea (Sollas, 1902) accepted as Mycale (Aegogropila) sulevoidea (Sollas, 1902)
Ceraochalina ceylonica Dendy, 1905 accepted as Callyspongia (Cladochalina) diffusa (Ridley, 1884)
Ceraochalina multiformis var. manaarensis (Dendy, 1889) accepted as Callyspongia (Cladochalina) diffusa (Ridley, 1884)
Ceraochalina retiarmata Dendy, 1905 accepted as Callyspongia (Cladochalina) diffusa (Ridley, 1884)
Ceraochalina reticutis Dendy, 1905 accepted as Callyspongia (Callyspongia) reticutis (Dendy, 1905)
Chalina clathrata Dendy, 1905 accepted as Callyspongia clathrata (Dendy, 1905)
Chalina cymaeformis (Esper, 1806) accepted as Haliclona (Gellius) cymaeformis (Esper, 1806)
Chalina obtusispiculifera Dendy, 1905 accepted as Niphates obtusispiculifera (Dendy, 1905)
Chalina similis (Ridley & Dendy, 1886) accepted as Neopetrosia similis (Ridley & Dendy, 1886)
Chalina subarmigera (Ridley, 1884) accepted as Callyspongia (Cladochalina) subarmigera (Ridley, 1884)
Chalina tenuiramosa Burton, 1930 accepted as Haliclona tenuiramosa (Burton, 1930)
Chondrilla australiensis Carter, 1873
Chondrilla australiensis var. lobata Dendy, 1905 accepted as Chondrilla australiensis Carter, 1873
Chondrilla kilakaria Kumar, 1925
Chondrilla sacciformis Carter, 1879
Chondrosia reniformis Nardo, 1847
Cinachyra anomala (Dendy, 1905) accepted as Cinachyrella anomala (Dendy, 1905)
Cinachyra cavernosa (Lamarck, 1815) accepted as Cinachyrella cavernosa (Lamarck, 1815)
Cinachyra hirsuta (Dendy, 1889) accepted as Cinachyrella hirsuta (Dendy, 1889)
Ciocalypta penicillus Bowerbank, 1862
Ciocalypta tyleri Bowerbank, 1873
Ciocalypta tyleri var. aberrans Dendy, 1905 accepted as Ciocalypta tyleri Bowerbank, 1873
Ciocalypta tyleri var. manaarensis Dendy, 1889 accepted as Ciocalypta tyleri Bowerbank, 1873
Cladochalina thurstoni Burton, 1930 accepted as Callyspongia (Cladochalina) thurstoni (Burton, 1930)
Clathria (Clathria) antyaja (Burton & Rao, 1932)
Edit history Last edited on 2009-05-20 15:39:48 by De Hauwere Nathalie
[Google] [Google scholar] [Google images]

Website and databases developed and hosted by VLIZ · Page generated 2023-05-31 · contact: Nicole de Voogd