Log in 

Porifera distribution - Placedetails

Status Alternative classification Alternative classification, try to use a different MRGID synonym of Celtic Sea (IHO Sea Area)
Language Name Name source
EnglishCeltic SeasSpalding, M. D. Fox, H. E. Allen, G. R. Davidson, N. Ferdana, Z. A. Finlayson, M. Halpern, B. S. Jorge, M. A. Lombana, A. Lourie, S. A., (2007). Marine Ecoregions of the World: A Bioregionalization of Coastal and Shelf Areas. Bioscience 2007, VOL 57; numb 7, pages 573-584. doi: 10.1641/B570707   
PlaceType Marine Ecoregion of the World (MEOW) 
Latitude 53° 47' 48.1" N (53.7967°)  
Longitude 8° 18' 26.9" W (-8.30748°)  
Source Spalding, M. D. Fox, H. E. Allen, G. R. Davidson, N. Ferdana, Z. A. Finlayson, M. Halpern, B. S. Jorge, M. A. Lombana, A. Lourie, S. A., (2007). Marine Ecoregions of the World: A Bioregionalization of Coastal and Shelf Areas. Bioscience 2007, VOL 57; numb 7, pages 573-584. doi: 10.1641/B570707, available online at
Part of  Northern European Seas (Marine Province) 
Has preferred alternative  Celtic Sea (IHO Sea Area)  [view hierarchy]   
Shapefile [download] or view the complete Marine Ecoregions of the World (MEOW) shapefile
in this area (100)
Aaptos aaptos (Schmidt, 1864)
Acervochalina limbata (Montagu, 1814) accepted as Chalinula limbata (Montagu, 1814)
Acervochalina loosanoffi (Hartmann, 1958) accepted as Chalinula loosanoffi (Hartman, 1958)
Adocia simulans (Johnston, 1842) accepted as Haliclona (Haliclona) simulans (Johnston, 1842)
Adreus fascicularis (Bowerbank, 1866)
Alectona millari Carter, 1879
Amorphina panicea (Pallas, 1766) accepted as Halichondria (Halichondria) panicea (Pallas, 1766)
Amphilectus fucorum (Esper, 1794)
Amphilectus incrustans (Johnston, 1842) accepted as Myxilla (Myxilla) incrustans (Johnston, 1842)
Amphilectus lobata (Montagu, 1814) accepted as Amphilectus ovulum (Schmidt, 1870)
Amphiute paulini Hanitsch, 1894
Amphoriscus chrysalis (Schmidt, 1864)
Amphoriscus oviparus (Haeckel, 1872)
Anchinoe fictitius (Bowerbank, 1866) accepted as Phorbas fictitius (Bowerbank, 1866)
Anchinoe paupertas (Bowerbank, 1866) accepted as Hymedesmia (Hymedesmia) paupertas (Bowerbank, 1866)
Ancorina radix Marenzeller, 1889
Antho (Antho) brattegardi van Soest & Stone, 1986 accepted as Antho (Jia) brattegardi van Soest & Stone, 1986
Antho (Antho) granditoxa Picton & Goodwin, 2007
Antho coriacea (Bowerbank, 1874) accepted as Antho (Acarnia) coriacea (Bowerbank, 1874)
Antho inconstans (Topsent, 1925) accepted as Antho (Antho) inconstans (Topsent, 1925)
Antho involvens (Schmidt, 1864) accepted as Antho (Antho) involvens (Schmidt, 1864)
Antho involvens var. inconstans (Topsent, 1925) accepted as Antho (Antho) inconstans (Topsent, 1925)
Aphrocallistes azoricus Topsent, 1901 accepted as Pityrete azoricum (Topsent, 1901)
Aphrocallistes bocagei Wright, 1870 accepted as Aphrocallistes beatrix Gray, 1858
Aphroceras ensata (Bowerbank, 1858)
Aphroceras ensata f. cliarensis (Stephens, 1912) accepted as Aphroceras ensata (Bowerbank, 1858)
Aphroceras ensata f. impressa (Hanitsch, 1890) accepted as Aphroceras ensata (Bowerbank, 1858)
Aphroceras ensata f. syconoides Borojevic, 1966 accepted as Aphroceras ensata (Bowerbank, 1858)
Aphroceras ramosa Carter, 1886 accepted as Heteropia ramosa (Carter, 1886)
Aplysilla rosea (Barrois, 1876)
Aplysilla sulfurea Schulze, 1878
Arabescula parasitica Carter, 1873
Asbestopluma (Asbestopluma) lycopodium (Levinsen, 1887) accepted as Lycopodina lycopodium (Levinsen, 1887)
Asbestopluma (Asbestopluma) pennatula (Schmidt, 1875)
Asbestopluma hypogea Vacelet & Boury-Esnault, 1996 accepted as Lycopodina hypogea (Vacelet & Boury-Esnault, 1996)
Asbestopluma pennatula (Schmidt, 1875) accepted as Asbestopluma (Asbestopluma) pennatula (Schmidt, 1875)
Ascaltis lamarcki (Haeckel, 1870)
Ascandra falcata Haeckel, 1872
Ascetta coriacea var. osculata Hanitsch, 1891 accepted as Clathrina coriacea (Montagu, 1814)
Ascetta primordialis Haeckel, 1872 accepted as Clathrina primordialis (Haeckel, 1872)
Atergia corticata Stephens, 1915
Auletta grantioides Lévi & Vacelet, 1958
Axinella agnata Topsent, 1896 accepted as Raspailia (Parasyringella) agnata (Topsent, 1896)
Axinella arctica (Vosmaer, 1885)
Axinella damicornis (Esper, 1794)
Axinella dissimilis (Bowerbank, 1866)
Axinella egregia sensu Topsent, 1892
Axinella flustra Topsent, 1892
Axinella infundibuliformis (Linnaeus, 1759)
Axinella mammillata Hanitsch, 1890 accepted as Polymastia spinula Bowerbank, 1866
Axinella parva Picton & Goodwin, 2007
Axinella polypoides Schmidt, 1862
Axinella pyramidata Stephens, 1916
Axinella verrucosa (Esper, 1794)
Batzella inops (Topsent, 1891)
Biemma corrugata (Bowerbank, 1866) accepted as Mycale (Aegogropila) corrugata (Bowerbank, 1866)
Biemna inornata (Bowerbank, 1866) accepted as Desmacella inornata (Bowerbank, 1866)
Biemna variantia (Bowerbank, 1858)
Bubaris constellata Topsent, 1893 accepted as Paratimea constellata (Topsent, 1893)
Bubaris vermiculata (Bowerbank, 1866)
Bubaris verticillata (Bowerbank, 1866) accepted as Halicnemia verticillata (Bowerbank, 1866)
Chalina cervicornis (Pallas, 1766) accepted as Haliclona (Haliclona) oculata (Linnaeus, 1759)
Chalina gracilenta Bowerbank, 1866 accepted as Chalinula limbata (Montagu, 1814)
Chalina grantii Bowerbank, 1866 accepted as Haliclona (Haliclona) oculata (Linnaeus, 1759)
Chalina inornata Bowerbank, 1874 accepted as Ulosa digitata (Schmidt, 1866)
Chalina limbata (Montagu, 1814) accepted as Chalinula limbata (Montagu, 1814)
Chalina montaguii (Fleming, 1828) accepted as Haliclona (Reniera) cinerea (Grant, 1826)
Chalina oculata (Linnaeus, 1759) accepted as Haliclona (Haliclona) oculata (Linnaeus, 1759)
Chalina seriata (sensu Johnston, 1842) accepted as Ophlitaspongia papilla Bowerbank, 1866
Chalinula seriata (Grant, 1826) accepted as Ophlitaspongia papilla Bowerbank, 1866
Characella pachastrelloides (Carter, 1876)
Chelonaplysilla noevus (Carter, 1876)
Chondrocladia virgata Thomson, 1873 accepted as Chondrocladia (Chondrocladia) virgata Thomson, 1873
Ciocalypta leei Bowerbank, 1874 accepted as Ciocalypta penicillus Bowerbank, 1862
Ciocalypta penicillus Bowerbank, 1862
Cladorhiza abyssicola Sars, 1872
Clathria (Microciona) elliptichela (Alander, 1942)
Clathria (Microciona) laevis (Bowerbank, 1866)
Clathria (Microciona) longispiculum (Carter, 1876) accepted as Eurypon longispiculum (Carter, 1876)
Clathria anchorata (Carter, 1874) accepted as Clathria (Paresperia) anchorata (Carter, 1874)
Clathria barleei (Bowerbank, 1866) accepted as Clathria (Clathria) barleei (Bowerbank, 1866)
Clathria dichotoma (Linnaeus, 1767) accepted as Antho (Antho) dichotoma (Linnaeus, 1767)
Clathria seriata (sensu Johnston, 1842) accepted as Ophlitaspongia papilla Bowerbank, 1866
Clathrina cancellata (Verrill, 1873)
Clathrina cerebrum (Haeckel, 1872) accepted as Borojevia cerebrum (Haeckel, 1872)
Clathrina clathrus (Schmidt, 1864)
Clathrina contorta (Bowerbank, 1866) accepted as Ascandra contorta (Bowerbank, 1866)
Clathrina coriacea (Montagu, 1814)
Clathrina lacunosa (Johnston, 1842)
Clathrina rubra Sarà, 1958
Cliona alderi Hancock, 1849 accepted as Cliona celata Grant, 1826
Cliona caledoniae van Soest & Beglinger, 2009
Cliona celata Grant, 1826
Cliona celata var. linearis Sollas, 1878 accepted as Cliona celata Grant, 1826
Cliona coralliophaga Stephens, 1915 accepted as Spongosorites coralliophaga (Stephens, 1915)
Cliona labyrinthica Hancock, 1849 accepted as Siphonodictyon labyrinthicum (Hancock, 1849)
Cliona levispira Topsent, 1898 accepted as Spiroxya levispira (Topsent, 1898)
Cliona lobata Hancock, 1849
Cliona pruvoti Topsent, 1900 accepted as Spiroxya pruvoti (Topsent, 1900)
Cliona vastifica Hancock, 1849 accepted as Pione vastifica (Hancock, 1849)
Edit history Last edited on 2009-05-20 15:39:48 by De Hauwere Nathalie
[Google] [Google scholar] [Google images]

Website and databases developed and hosted by VLIZ · Page generated 2021-09-18 · contact: Nicole de Voogd